Earlham Symphony Orchestra Spring Concert featuring Leonard Bernstein's Symphonic Dances from 'West Side Story'

  • Date: Saturday, April 26, 2014
  • Time: 7:30 p.m.
  • Location: Goddard Auditorium, Carpenter Hall

Orchestra 8This concert features the wonderful "Symphonic Dances" from West Side Story, which is an orchestral fantasia drawn from the Jerome Robbins dance movements in the Broadway score, and featuring the dance numbers about the Jets and Sharks (the opening scene of the film version), the Mambo dance in the gym, Tony and Maria's Meeting Scene, the "Keep Cool" dance (which is in fact a jazz fugue), the music of the Rumble, all tied together with the haunting ballads "I Have a Love" and "There's a place for us somewhere."  The remainder of the concert ties in themes associated with this music. The concert opens with a scene from Prokofiev's Romeo and Juliet Ballet, tying together the Shakespeare theme, and the orchestra will also perform the first movement of Mahler's Symphony no. 1. Leonard Bernstein was re-discovering Mahler during the time that he was writing West Side Story, and his subsequent recordings and performances of the Mahler cycle with the NY Philarmonic brought Mahler's work back into the repertory of the modern concert life, where it remains central to this day. The recital will also feature the premiere performance of the second movement of Earlham music major Thomas Webb's Symphony no. 1.

Free admission, no tickets required.

Additional Details:

  • Event Contact: Lynn Knight
  • Organization: Events Department
  • Contact E-mail: knighly@earlham.edu
  • Contact Phone: 765-983-1373
Print Friendly and PDF